10. The magnificent seven(th)

Having written the Fourth, Fifth and Sixth symphonies almost simultaneously, there followed a gap of nearly three years before Beethoven returned to symphonic writing.

The Seventh Symphony in A, Op. 92, was written between 1811 and 1812 and first performed in 1813. It was an immediate success with the second movement (the Allegretto) being particularly well received.

It’s a strongly rhythmic work with the first (), second () and fourth () movements being dominated by repeated rhythms.

00:00 Poco sostenuto – Vivace
14:44 Allegretto
24:31 Scherzo. Presto
34:07 Allegro con brio


Any copyrighted material on these pages is included as “fair use”, for the purpose of study, and critical analysis only, and will be removed at the request of the copyright owner(s).