7. …and after Eroica?

There are nodal points in music (and in all human endeavour, I suppose), after which everything seems to move off in a new direction. The Eroica Symphony is an example of this phenomenon; after it, nothing in music would ever be the same.

But, having made a ground-breaking gesture, where do you go from there?

The Fourth Symphony returns to a more Haydnesque style of writing; so it tends to be overshadowed by its two monumental, brow-furrowing siblings, the Eroica and the Fifth. That said, it’s a work that’s been much admired by many distinguished composers (Berlioz, Schumann, Mendelssohn) and is a fine example of that very rare thing – a genius having fun and delighting in his powers.

Adagio – Allegro Vivace 0:10
Adagio 12:25
Allegro vivace 22:35
Allegro ma non troppo 29:09


Any copyrighted material on these pages is included as “fair use”, for the purpose of study, and critical analysis only, and will be removed at the request of the copyright owner(s).