…and so to sleep

To listen simply press on the audio player below
(you can also download the file –
click on the three dots on the right):

Max Bruch: Serenade:

I. Andante con moto 0:00
II. Allegro moderata, alla marcia 9:25
III. Notturno: Andante sostenuto 18:47
IV. Allegro energico e vivace 28:33

Tchaikovsky: Sérénade mélancolique

Sibelius: Serenade in g, Op. 69b

Bernstein: Serenade (after Plato’s Symposium)

I Phaedrus: Pausanias
II Aristophanes
III Erixymathus
IV Agathon
V Socrates: Alcibiades.

Britten: Serenade for Tenor, Horn & String Orchestra – 7. Keats: Sonnet, To Sleep

Any copyrighted material on these pages is included as “fair use”, for the purpose of study, and critical analysis only, and will be removed at the request of the copyright owner(s).

4 thoughts on “…and so to sleep

  1. What a perfectly chosen subject for this grey winter, so beautifully delivered with the perfect ending. Thank you very much

  2. Thanks for a wonderful course, Chris. Has raised my spirits no end and introduced me to some fascinating music.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.