To listen simply press on the audio player below
(you can also download the file –
click on the three dots on the right):

Heinrich Biber’s Passacaglia is the sixteenth and last piece in a collection of works for violin entitled The Mysteries of the Rosary: a two bar bass followed by 64 variations – it’s truly astonishing.

Ottorino Resphigi’s Metamorphoseon was written in 1930 for the Boston Symphony Orchestra’s fiftieth anniversary. It’s an interesting combination of symphonic variations and the sort of orchestral showpiece that you’d expect from the composer of the Pines and Fountains of Rome:

• Tema: Andante moderato –
1:48 Modus I: Moderato non troppo –
3:41 Modus II: Allegretto –
5:18 Modus III: Lento –
7:41 Modus IV: Lento espressivo –
10:19 Modus V: Molto vivace –
10:56 Modus VI: Vivo –
11:40 Modus VII: Cadenze –
18:18 Modus VIII: Andantino mosso –
19:40 Modus IX: Lento non troppo –
21:59 Modus X: Molto allegro –
22:40 Modus XI: Molto allegro –
23:31 Modus XII: Vivo non troppo

Any copyrighted material on these pages is included as “fair use”, for the purpose of study, and critical analysis only, and will be removed at the request of the copyright owner(s).

2 thoughts on “Metamorphosis

  1. The Henrick Biber piece was amazing but slightly spoiled by being able to hear the violinist breathing through much of the piece!

  2. Thanks again, Chris. An excellent performance of the Biber Passacaglia, showing the advantages of using a baroque bow for this kind of music. And there was the warm acoustic of the Concertgebouw.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.