Piano concerto 9 – Tchaikovsky

Tchaikovsky wrote three piano concertos; though, really, the count is two and a third, since the last is only one movement long (the composer was still mulling over its second and third movements and whether the piece was to be a concerto or symphony when he died).

Undoubtedly though, it’s the first that’s become the Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto with the second trailing a long way behind in terms of popularity. But the second does have its virtues; particularly, to my mind, when the single soloist becomes a trio with a solo violin and cello in the slow movement.

Here are both works: judge for yourself…

0:03 (I) Allegro non troppo e molto maestoso – Allegro con spirito
22:02 (II)Andantino semplice – Prestissimo – Tempo I
29:58 (III) Allegro con fuoco – Molto meno mosso – Allegro vivo

Score (2 piano)

I. Allegro brillante e molto vivace 00:27
II. Andante non troppo 20:29
III. Allegro con fuoco 34:00

Score (2 piano)