4. Komponist(in)liebe

Robert was, at first, not a great song enthusiast, writing as late as 1839 that he thought song a second rate art form compared to instrumental music.

Then, in 1840, the year of his marriage, having previously composed exclusively for piano, he wrote – during that year alone – somewhere in the region of 140 settings of poetry for voice and piano. Whatever the reason for this volte-face (his quixotic personality? the transformative effect of his marriage to Clara?) these songs number amongst them some of his finest compositions.

Robert Schumann:

1. Im wunderschönen Monat Mai 0:00
2. Aus meinen Tränen sprießen 1:30
3. Die Rose, die Lilie, die Taube, die Sonne 2:25
4. Wenn ich in deine Augen seh 3:02
5. Ich will meine Seele tauchen 4:32
6. Im Rhein, im heiligen Strome 5:28
7. Ich grolle nicht 7:17
8. Und wüßten’s die Blumen, die kleinen 8:34
9. Das ist ein Flöten und Geigen 9:57
10. Hör’ ich das Liedchen klingen 11:32
11. Ein Jüngling liebt ein Mädchen 13:30
12. Am leuchtenden Sommermorgen 14:32
13. Ich hab’ im Traum geweinet 17:21
14. Allnächtlich im Traume 19:56
15. Aus alten Märchen winkt es 21:30
16. Die alten, bösen Lieder 24:13

If you want to compare the above with the 1957 Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau/Jörg Demus performance click this link.


Translations available here

Clara Schumann:
Piano Trio in g

As wedding anniversary presents go, this trio must rank amongst the best. Presented by the twenty-seven year old Clara Schumann to her husband on their sixth year together, it’s confirms her stature as Romantic (and romantic) composer:

00:1511:12 Allegro moderato
11:2016:25 Scherzo – Tempo di Menuetto
16:3021:25 Andante – più animato
21:3029:40 Allegretto


Here, as promised last week, is a performance of Robert’s First Symphony:

00:00 Andante maestoso – Allegro molto vivace
12:39 Larghetto
19:31 Scherzo. Molto vivace
25:11 Allegro animato e grazioso


Any copyrighted material on these pages is included as “fair use”, for the purpose of study, and critical analysis only, and will be removed at the request of the copyright owner(s).