Your marching orders

To listen simply press on the audio player below
(you can also download the file –
click on the three dots on the right):

Hugo Wolf: Italian Serenade

Ludwig van Beethoven: Serenade in D for String Trio Op. 8

0:00 I. Marcia. Allegro; Adagio
6:19 II. Menuetto. Allegretto
8:39 III. Adagio (D minor) 10:00 Scherzo 10:30 Adagio 11:50 Allegro molto
13:03 IV. Allegretto alla polacca (F major)
18:07 V. Tema con variazioni. Andante quasi allegretto

Ernő Dohnányi: Serenade in C for String Trio

I. Marcia. Allegro [00:00​]
II. Romanza. Adagio non troppo, quasi andante [02:06​]
III. Scherzo. Vivace [5:49​]
IV. Tema con variazioni. Andante con moto [10:18​]
V. Rondo (Finale). Allegro vivace [16:40​]

Arnold Schönberg: Serenade Op. 24

0:00​ 1. Marsch
4:58​ 2. Menuett – Trio (7:21​)
12:27​ 3. Variationen – Thema
17:57​ 4. Sonett Nr. 217 von Petrarca
21:01​ 5. Tanzscene
28:40​ 6. Lied (ohne Worte)
31:50​ 7. Finale

Dag Wirén: Serenade for Strings, IV Marcia

Any copyrighted material on these pages is included as “fair use”, for the purpose of study, and critical analysis only, and will be removed at the request of the copyright owner(s).

1 thought on “Your marching orders

  1. An intriguing itinerary, Particularly enjoyed your introduction to the Wolf Serenade.There is a serenade in his Italian Songbook, but the quartet movement somehow sounds more italianate. Very demanding to play, I imagine, and not just for the second violin!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.