1842 was Robert Schumann’s chamber music year. Not only did he complete three string quartets but the year also saw the composition of both a piano quartet (violin, viola, cello, piano) and a piano quintet (string quartet, piano).

The Quintet is one of Schumann’s best known and, arguably, finest works; it was composed during September and October and given a first performance in December of that year (Clara was ill, so Mendelssohn sight-read the piano part!)

Here are the main events of the first movement’s exposition:

The whole ensemble opens the Allegro brilliante:

the piano, and then the violin develop and extend the opening idea:

the piano gently nudges the music towards the second subject…

… which appears in full as a duet for cello and viola:

Any copyrighted material on these pages is included as “fair use”, for the purpose of study, and critical analysis only, and will be removed at the request of the copyright owner(s).

1 thought on “1842!

Comments are closed.