Tag Archives: Uuno Klami

Not Sibelius

Uuno Klami : Kalevala Suite, V. The forging of the Sampo
Iceland Symphony Orchestra, Petri Sakari
Chandos Classics: CHAN 10427 X

From the Kalevala Suite of Uuno Klami (1900–1961), via the Comedy Overture and Third Symphony  of Leevi Madetoja (1887–1947) and the Cello Concerto of Joonas Kokkonen (1921–1996), to the mystic angel music of Einojuhani Rautavaara (b. 1928) — a sample of Finnish music that isn’t by Sibelius.

Composer biographies

Any copyrighted material on these pages is included as “fair use/dealing”, for the purpose of study, and critical analysis only, and will be removed at the request of the copyright owner(s).